Liberal Arts

The Associate of Arts degree in Liberal Arts is designed for students who wish a broad knowledge of liberal arts and sciences plus additional coursework in an "Area of Emphasis." This area of emphasis would be an ideal choice for students planning on transferring to the California State University or University of California as the student can satisfy their general education requirements, plus focus on transferable course work that relates to majors at CSU or UC. Please consult with a counselor for specific information regarding your intended major or the specific colleges/university of your choice. For more information please contact the COD Counseling Center at 760.773.2520.

  • Choose either the California State University General Education Certification or the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum for the General Education pattern related to your educational goal;
  • Complete 18 units in one "Area of Emphasis" from those outlined below. (Note: Where appropriate, courses in the "area of emphasis" may also be counted for a GE area; see a counselor for appropriate course selection.)
  • For All Options: complete necessary College of the Desert Graduation and Proficiency requirements.
  • All courses listed under Liberal Arts transfer to CSU. Refer to www.assist.org for transfer details or see a counselor or faculty advisor for additional details.

General Education Certification

College of the Desert may certify a student who has completed the lower-division general education requirements and this guarantees that no additional lower-division courses may be imposed on a student as a condition of graduation at the California State University (CSU) or University of California (UC) systems. “Certified” community college students are deemed to have satisfied lower-division general education requirements, while “Non-certified” or “Partially-certified” students may find additional  lower-division course requirements upon transfer to these institutions. Therefore, it is recommended that students seek “Full Certification” prior to transfer.

Note: Nine (9) additional upper-division general education units must be completed at the CSU system after transfer to fulfill graduation requirements.

College of the Desert is authorized to certify completion of lower- division coursework completed at College of the Desert and other regionally- accredited institutions through a process of “ pass-along” credit. To receive credit from prior or concurrent colleges and universities, students must submit official transcripts for evaluation to Admissions and Records at College of the Desert. Counselors are available for assistance.

IGETC Certification

College of the Desert may certify the complete of the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) for a student when COD is the last/most recent school of attendance. Completion of the IGETC general education pattern satisfies the lower-division general education requirements for both the UC and CSU systems. All IGETC coursework must be completed prior to transfer to be “Fully-Certified”. Students will be “partially certified” if they are missing no more than two (2) courses from the IGETC pattern. Select STEM majors may qualify for IGETC for STEM certification. Students should see a counselor for further information.

CSU GE Certification

The California State University (CSU) will accept “Full CSU GE Certification” from students completing all 5 areas of the general education pattern. Completion of one or more areas, but not all five, will result in “Partial Certification”. CSU GE certification should be requested in the semester in which the lower-division general education coursework is completed. If a student is only “partially certified”, most CSU campuses will allow the student to complete full certification by taking COD coursework during winter/summer terms or during concurrent COD-CSU enrollment. 

Counseling Faculty:

Basil Augustine
baugustine@collegeofthedesert.edu
760.773.2524

Kimberly Brooks
kbrooks@collegeofthedesert.edu
760.862.1352

Adell Bynum
abynum@collegeofthedesert.edu
760.776.7204

Scott Cooper
scooper@collegeofthedesert.edu
760.776.7453

Victoria Curry
vcurry@collegeofthedesert.edu 
760.636.7977

Maria De Santiago
mdesantiago@collegeofthedesert.edu
760.773.2540

Sandra Hauf
shauf@collegeofthedesert.edu 
760.862.1337  

Maria Herrera
maherrera@collegeofthedesert.edu
760.674.7841

Khanh Hoang
khoang@collegeofthedesert.edu
760.776.7424

Jenna Huntzinger
jhuntzinger@collegeofthedesert.edu
760.776.7252

Maria Jasso
mjasso@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.773.2593

Elise King
eking@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.862.1360

Monica Lopez
molopez@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.674.7628

Lisa McFadden
lmcfadden@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.776.7499

Angel Meraz
ameraz@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.568.7519

Frank Ramirez
framirez@collegeofthedesert.edu
760.568.7519

Fred Sangiorgio
fsangiorgio@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.776.7345

Christine Schaefer
cschaefer@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.568.3188

Jose Simo
jsimo@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.776.7356

Ana Stockwell
astockwell@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.776.7380

Mariana Zepeda 
mazepeda@collegeofthedesert.edu    
760.423.6636