Alcohol and Drug Studies Certificate of Achievement
A minimum grade of “C” must be earned in all courses for the certificate. In addition, students will be required to have 75% attendance in these courses.
|HSAD 001||Introduction To Alcohol & Drug Studies||3|
|(HSAD 001, corequisite for HSAD 004, 020, 024, 030, 034 and 036)|
|HSAD 002||Intro To Human Services Counseling||3|
|HSAD 004||Personal & Professional Growth||2|
|HSAD 024||Law/Ethics: Community Resources||3|
|HSAD 020||Biomedical Pharmacology||3|
|HSAD 022||Case Management||3|
|HSAD 030||Individual, Group & Family Counseling||3|
|HSAD 034||Dual Diagnosis||3|
|HSAD 032A||Alcohol/Drug: Supervised Practicum I||2|
|HSAD 032B||Alcohol/Drug: Supervised Practicum II||2|
|HSAD 033A||Alcohol/Drug: Supervised Internship I||3|
|HSAD 033B||Alcohol/Drug: Supervised Internship II||3|
|HSAD 036||Counseling Diverse Populations (Fall only)||3|
|(Please see item #3 under Requirements for Internship)|
These courses prepare students for the certification options. Below are agencies that provide state accepted certification. Please contact the agencies directly with specific questions.
California Consortium of Addiction Programs and Professionals (CCAPP)
In order to take the ICRC examination, potential applicants must have completed 315 hours of alcohol and drug education and 255 hours of supervised practicum/internship. The COD HSAD Program is accredited by CCAPP and the COD HSAD Certificate meets their requirements of 315 hours of alcohol/drug education and the 255 hours of supervised practicum/internship.
Requirements for Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC-1)
- Passing grade on the ICRC examination
- 4000 hours hours of supervised work experience as an alcohol and drug counselor
California Association of Alcohol and Drug Educators (CAADE)
Requirements for Certified Addictions Treatment Counselor (CATC)
- Passing grade on the examination
- 2240 supervised clinical hours at a State Licensed AOD facility (which include the hours completed in your field experience/practicum/fieldwork class at college and any supervised/verifiable work at a State Licensed AOD facility, dating back 5 years from when you apply for initial certification).